camp nanowrimo, Quarter Milwordy Challenge

First of May Update!

I did not forget to update yesterday! In fact, yesterday was one of those rare busy Saturdays. I had a mandatory work shift, a massage, and then I wrote those last few satisfying words for the April session of Camp NaNoWriMo.

I finished two days early, hitting 50,000 words on April 28! But I kept writing, because my Habitica app has now incentivized me to update everyday. There’s something satisfying about being able to Level up just by rewarding good habits! Below is my final graph, and I’m so happy that I was able to keep going after 50,000 words. Now my goal is to flesh out the story, and add at least 40,000 words, bringing the total word count up to around 90,000 words.

As for my Quarter Milwordy goal, I have now closed the gap to 3,854 words needed to catch up. In a month that was plagued by Mandatory Saturdays, burnout, sore throats, looking for a new job, and procrastinating on reaching plot points, this was a whirlwind of a month, and I’m excited that I have been able to not only close the deficit, but write a far more satisfactory version of the first in my Myth of the Metals series.

And amid all of the frantic writing and applying, it is still important to do self care. Whether it’s a massage, dropping a task in favor of resting, or even allowing yourself to sleep in a little bit, it’s always important to listen to your body. Just because you might want or need to do everything, doesn’t mean your body has the energy or ability to handle doing everything.

The next big writing event is in July, and I have an exciting Staycation planned for the week of Memorial Day, which will involve much book reading. I have a stack of autobiographies and biographies of the British Royal Family( I have Diana by Sarah Bradford, Philip: The Final Portrait by Gyles Brandreth, Prince Charles: The Passions and Paradoxes of an Improbable Life by Sally Befell Smith, The Duchess: Camilla Parker Bowles and the Love Affair that Rocked the Crown by Penny Junior, Queen of Our Time by Robert Hardman), and I have the Regency Faerie Tales series (The Lord Sorcier, Half a Soul, The Latch Key, Ten Thousand Stitches, and Longshadow ) series by Olivia Atwater lined up for a week of literary abandon. If time allows, I also have A Wizard’s Guide to Defensive Baking by T. Kingfisher, and The Children of Hurin by JRR Tolkien.

Too many books to read?
Nonsense.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.