Quarter Milwordy Challenge, Weekend Update

Happy 2023!

We’re 7 days into 2023! I’m not going to jinx things and say “New Year, New Me”. Am I making more intentional decisions as we venture into this new year? Absolutely.

The plan is to make a post every Saturday, with progress updates on writing goals and reading goals. There may also be some other things that get updated as well, but 

Two days into the new year, I made the decision to add one change to my routine. I’ve started doing 20 minute naps after I get home, instead of just jumping into the next thing that I need to do. I’m operating under the assumption that I’m staring down another year of six day work weeks, so I’m hoping a 20 minute nap will help mitigate some of the intense burn out I experienced last year. Last year the burn out was so bad, I was teetering on experiencing Anxiety because I just didn’t have time for everything that I needed to accomplish. Hopefully it doesn’t get that bad this year.

I’m still figuring out where I want to put a storage bin that has a bunch of Sewing supplies. It also has some costume accessories, because I do not have a place, at present, dedicated to costume accessories. I will have have to figure that out, but I’m hoping I can put that off until February because I will have a pay raise at that point. Hopefully I can get my room back to a point where id doesn’t constantly look like a bomb went off. Being in a messy room stresses me out. Things can’t stay this way.

Writing wise, I have decided to start on a fluffy short story about magical snow people. Someone in one of my discord channels made a comment about “new snow” sounding like snow tourists, and my brain went places. So I’ve made substantial headway on that. I haven’t been writing every day, because I have been in the process of taking Christmas decorations down, but I have written 1,063 words towards my Quarter Millwordy goal.

I have an audiobook and my book club book in progress. I’ve made 23% progress on my book club book, which I have to finish by the 28th, which shouldn’t be a big deal. The Genre is young adult, so we’re not talking about anything serious here. I’m reading A Wizard’s Guide to Defensive Baking.

The audio book that I’m listening to, in my spare time at work, is The Palace Papers: Inside the House of Windsor – the Truth and the Turmoil. There is a lot of tea in here, at least what I’ve listened to so far. There will be more once I write up my final review, but there is tea in here. So far I’m 63% through this book, so I’m getting close to finishing. I am only delaying continuing, because admittedly, I really don’t want to go through the Prince Andrew Scandal chapters. It’s just two chapters, but I really don’t want to.

I have ordered the first three Discworld books, and I also have #4 and #6 because someone was moving and needed to off load some books. If I like the first 4, I will definitely keep going, but I at least need to read a few because I keep hearing such good things about these books, so I want to at least get started.

I moved out a bunch of books to my storage unit that were just sitting in my bed’s headboard, even though I’d finished them earlier last year. Everything has been replaced with books that I want to finish this year, and that I might need for future book clubs. If I end up not needing any of them, I’ll just send them back to my storage unit.

With that, I am off to take out the trash, and get some more writing done.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.